Freelancing for The Tennis Channel

Annnnnd, we’re clear.  I just finished up my first chunk of time working as a Stage Manager for The Tennis Channel during their coverage of the WTA tournaments in Moscow, Stockholm, Luxembourg, and Singapore.  This freelance gig has been a lot of fun and a great introduction to working in LIVE television.

Remember when I was talking about networking?  It really is the lifeblood of the freelancer.  Case in point, this job came directly to me via a (very thoughtful) friend.  I didn’t see find this posted on Craigslist or Mandy.  There was no crew-call that I am aware of.  It just goes to show you how important it is to communicate and put yourself out there when looking for work in the film/television world.

Because of the time difference and the need to cover this tournament live, I have been waking up at 1am the past few nights to make it to the studio around 2.  Although it has been a little draining, I haven’t had to deal with the typical rush-hour traffic that plagues Los Angeles.  I stumble around the house, make some coffee, get dressed, and sleepwalk to my car (don’t even get me started on that contraption…it goes into the shop tomorrow…).

Acting as Stage Manager is both exciting and fast-paced.  Working with the Talent, Camera Men, Sound Techs, and the folks in the control room really allows me to see all sides of the production.  It’s fun being on the set and watching everything unfold LIVE, no room for errors.  Also, I love food and The Tennis Channel has fed me really well.

I am currently enjoying a few days off to recuperate before going back for another weekend of work.  I am extremely thankful that I got this opportunity to work with a great group of people and hopefully I’ll work with them again in the future.

And to end this post, here is a meme that I came up with.  I know it’s pretty bad.  Cheers!

My first attempt at a meme.

My first attempt at a meme.

Leave a Reply

