Touring Cali

Well, here I sit, 9 days away from starting my hike and I can practically feel the energy vibrating, coursing through my veins. I’ve been folding maps for the past hour, stealing glimpses of iconic places I hope to visit on the ground as I follow that 2660 mile long corridor of possibilities North.
I am in Gilroy, California, garlic capital of the world, visiting my Aunt and Uncle, cousins, etc. The last time I was here was a previous decade and things were very different in my life. If you asked me then, I could NEVER have predicted my current situation or the events that led to this pivotal junction in my life. What was it that Robert Frost said?..

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and Iā€”
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Part of me always knew this was the path I was meant to be on, I just needed life to drop-kick me in the face to get on track. It hurt and there is still no certainty. But is there ever certainty? I ask myself this time and time again, hoping for clarity in a world that is obscured by layers of purple haze.
A trip to REI for some final provisions will hopefully leave me feeling properly outfitted. I can’t wait for this wild ride to get started.

20140402-121830.jpg

6 thoughts on “Touring Cali

  1. Adam Dresser

    I’m loving your blog! You’re a good writer. I look forward to following along as you hike. I’m planning my 2015 thru hike, so I’ll be an attentive reader!

    It seems we have a lot in common, but I don’t want to clutter up your blog with that. But if you’re interested in chatting, email me at adamtdresser at gmail dawt com.

    Have a great hike, man! Cheers.

    Reply
    1. Matt Post author

      Adam,
      Thanks for the kind words and I’m glad you’re enjoying my writing. I hope I can inspire you, just as others have inspired me to look forward to the day you can begin your own thru hike. It’s great to know you will ‘be along for the ride’ and will do my best to keep things interesting and up to date on here. Cheers.
      -Matt

      Reply
  2. kylemmenard

    So excited for you. I should be living in San Diego by May, so don’t hesitate to reach out if you need anything! I know that’s typically the start of things, but you never know. I hope those maps are good enough for me in 2015…how much could change? šŸ˜

    Reply

Leave a Reply

